MPG Open Access Network

MPG Open Access Network

The realisation of Open Access at the Max-Planck-Society is a joint task. An important aspect is the creation of a closer network between those that are active there and all other interested parties within the Max Planck Society (research, library, administration, IT) in the matter of Open Access, thereby creating an organisational basis for the exchange of experience and the provision of advice and support in decision-making processes.

The Open Access Working Group is a forum for information service providers from various Max Planck Institutes and other interested parties to exchange ideas and information on Open Access and Open Science. The working group also serves as a point of contact for the institutes regarding these topics.

Our regular meetings are a central platform for professional exchange. We develop best-practice examples and collect helpful information. Additionally, we closely monitor the current developments in Open Access and Open Science. We are currently focusing on the following topics:

  • Publication-based Open-Access business models
  • Implementation of Open Access into the publication repository PuRe
  • Open Access Monitoring
  • Licenses
  • Policies

The working group also organises events for the institutes’ information service providers and maintains contacts with groups inside and outside the Max Planck Society working on similar topics.

Members of the working group include information service providers, librarians, communication specialists, and editorial office staff from various Max Planck Institutes.

  • Josefine Blunk (MPI for Human Development, Berlin
  • Urte Brauckmann (MPI for the History of Science, Berlin)
  • Christian Eckl (MPI for comparative and international Private Law, Hamburg)
  • Elisabeth Engl (MPI for Research on Collective Goods, Bonn)
  • Melanie Franz (MPDL, Munich)
  • Thomas Gerdes (MPI for the Study of Religious and Ethnic Diversity, Göttingen)
  • Gisa Gudd  (MPI for Meteorology, Hamburg)
  • Kirsten Heinrich (MPI for Biogeochemistry and Chemical Ecology, Jena)
  • Susanne Hilbring (MPI for the Study of Societies, Cologne)
  • Anu Hirvonen (MPI for Mathematics, Bonn)
  • Claudia Holland (MPI for comparative and international Private Law, Hamburg)
  • Arne Hoyer (MPI for Radio Astronomy, Bonn)
  • Linda-Marie Kallenborn (MPI for Software Systems, Saarbrücken)
  • Karin Kastens (MPI for Psycholinguistics, Nijmegen)
  • Daniela Kefer (MPI for Human Development, Berlin)
  • Simone Kronenwett (MPI for Astronomy, Heidelberg)
  • Elisabeth Martin (MPI for the Study of Crime, Security and Law, Freiburg)
  • Johannes Mikuteit (MPI for Comparative Public Law and International Law, Heidelberg
  • Sebastian Nix (MPI for Human Development, Berlin)
  • David Schröder-Micheel (MPI for comparative and international Private Law, Hamburg)
  • Simone Schulze (MPI for Software Systems, Saarbrücken)
  • Heike Schwender (MPI for the Science of Light, Erlangen)
  • Kristin Starkloff (MPI of Geoanthropology, Jena)
  • Ina Werner (MPI for Chemical Physics of Solids, Dresden)
  • Sandra Zikeli (MPI for Comparative Public Law and International Law, Heidelberg)

The working group is open to everybody interested in Open Access and Open Science within the Max Planck Society. We welcome new members and active participation!

Please feel free to contact us at: minerva-liest-oa-owner @

Go to Editor View